Let's Go Walkin' Mississippi!

Upcoming Events

December 2022

Saturday, December 3

Run Run Rudolph 10K, 5K & 1 Mile Kid's Run - Brookhaven

Holiday Hustle 5K - Canton

"You Can't Catch Me!" Yule Run 8K & 5K - Clinton, Virtual Option Available

Oh What Fun! 5K - Flowood

Crusader 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Hattiesburg

Run Run Ruduck 5K & Kid’s Run - Leland

Jingle Bells 5K - Long Beach

Candy Cane 5K Dash & 1 Mile Fun Run - Meridian

Ainsley's Angels 9th Annual Cannonball Roll 5K - Raymond

Redleg Charity 5K - Starkville

Reindeer Run 5K - Vicksburg

Saturday, December 10

Mississippi Gulf Coast Marathon Weekend 5K & 1 Mile Kid's Run - Biloxi

Fit for Ag / Jingle Bell Jog Half Marathon, 10K, 5K & 1 Mile Kids Fun Run - Madison

Rudolph Run 10K & 5K - Pontotoc

Sunday, December 11

Mississippi Gulf Coast Marathon Weekend 26.2 Mile & 13.1 Mile Run - Biloxi

Saturday, December 17

Winter Half Marathon Classic 13.1 Mile, 10K & 5K - Grenada

Lake Caroline 15K - Lake Caroline

Sonny Rush Run 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Meridian

Pass to the Bay 10K & 1 Mile Run - Pass Christian

Saturday, December 31

Ring in Your Faith 10K & 5K - Madison

Last Chance to Run 15K, 5K & 1 Mile Run - Woolmarket

January 2023

Saturday, January 7

Frosty Kroc Run 10K, 5K & 1 Mile Run - Biloxi

Flora Fit Frosty 5K - Flora

The Great Scorpion Trail Run 50K, 25K & 12.5K - Meridian

Monday, January 16

MLK Unity 5K - Southaven

Saturday, January 28

Casino Bridge Run 10K & 5K - Biloxi

Harley Half Marathon 10K & 5K - Biloxi

Frostbite Half Marathon, 10K & 5K - Starkville

Sunday, January 29

Harley Half Marathon - Biloxi

February 2023

Saturday, February 4

Mississippi River Marathon 26.2 Mile, 13.1 Mile & 5K Run - Start in Lake Village, AR; Ends in Greenville

Wednesday, February 8

Tread-Away on CRMO at the Dam 5K - Grenada

Saturday, February 11

Frosty 15 Mile & 15K Trail Race - Madison

Saturday, February 25

Mississippi Blues Marathon 26.2 Mile, 13.1 Mile, 6.5 Mile, 5K & 26.2 Mile Relay - Jackson

March 2023

Friday, March 3

Mississippi 50 Trail Run 100 Mile - Laurel

Saturday, March 4

Camp Shelby Norwegian Foot March and Extra Miles Marathon - Hattiesburg

Mississippi 50 Trail Run 50 Mile, 50K & 20K - Laurel

Run Thru History 10K & 5K - Vicksburg

Saturday, March 18

Run the Rainbow for Children's Half Marathon, 10K & 5K - Jackson

Wednesday, March 22

Gulf Coast Series - Day 3, 26.2 Mile, 13.1 Mile, 10K & 5K - Gulfport

Saturday, March 25

Breaking the Loop 22 Miler, 11 Miler, 10K, 5K & 1 Mile - Flowood

April 2023

Saturday, April 1

Zoe Ministries' RUN4ZOE 5K - Cleveland, Virtual Option Available

Austin's Shoes Run with Rotary 5K - Corinth

Hattiesburg Half Marathon, 10K & 5K - Hattiesburg

My Choices 5K for Life - Ripley, Virtual Option Available

Saturday, April 15

Ridgeland Endurance Weekend 13.1 Mile, 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Ridgeland

Wednesday, April 19

Riverboat Marathon Series, Day 3 - Hollandale

Saturday, April 22

Haulin’ for Hayden 5K & Fun Run - Columbia

Fondren Urban Ultra 12-Hour Run & 12-Hour Relay - Jackson

Saturday, April 29

Reconnect 4 Autism Color Run 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Corinth, Virtual Option Available

May 2023

Saturday, May 13

Farm to Fork Run Half Marathon, 10K & 5K - Hattiesburg

Saturday, May 20

Renaissance Marathon Festival 10K & 5K - Ridgeland

Sunday, May 21

Renaissance Marathon Festival 26.2 Mile & 13.1 Mile - Ridgeland

While upcoming events have been canceled and/or postponed to help protect our communities and stop the spread of COVID-19, there are many things we can do to ensure we are getting 30 minutes of exercise in, most days of the week.

Get out and smell the magnolias!

The weather in Mississippi is mild, so it’s the perfect time. The key to walking or running will be to avoid popular trails or walking tracks. Stick to your neighborhood and be sure to maintain social distance and stay 6 feet away from any neighbors you may encounter.

Hit the stairs!

Be sure to warm-up first then run or walk the stairs for 15 minutes. If you need more of a challenge you can even side-step your way up and down, use the stairs to do push-ups or use the stairs to do step-ups. You’ll engage some different muscles and get the blood pumping.

The hunt is on!

If you have kids, try a scavenger hunt! Be creative and start inside and end in the backyard. Here are some suggestions to include in your hunt: something blue, puzzles, legos, a favorite toy, dad’s grill or even a flower or pinecone. Pinterest has tons of ideas to get you started.

Use sidewalk chalk!

Teach kids a math lesson outside or get in some physical activity. Draw a hopscotch, create a version of Twister, draw a maze or write down different activities for kids to do like jumping jacks, stretching or running in place.

The ideas are endless, just be sure to stay active!

We compile this calendar listing from various running and walking events in Mississippi that are sponsored by Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi and create links when more information is available. Be sure to check the details of each event for registration costs, deadlines and details, including changes and cancellations.