Let's Go Walkin' Mississippi!

Upcoming Events

February 2024

Saturday, February 3

GCCA Annual Run For the Beads 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Biloxi

Red Hot Tutu Run 5K & Kids' Fun Run - Clinton

Mississippi River Marathon 26.2 Mile, 13.1 Mile & 5K - Greenville

Saturday, February 10

Racing for Kidney Awareness 5K & 1 Mile Kids' Run - Hattiesburg

Frosty 15 15 Mile & 15K Trail Run - Madison

PCTF Lighthouse Dash 5K & 2 Mile Walk - Petal

Laces for Love 10K, 5K & Fun Run - Vicksburg

Sunday, February 11

The Ole Miss Big Event Cupid Run 5K - University

Saturday, February 17

Breaking the Loop 22 Miles, 11 Miles, 10K, 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Flowood, Virtual Option Available

Molten Mohawk Niner & 4 Mile Run - Hattiesburg

Heart and Sole 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Ocean Springs

Museum Miles Race through History 5K - Starkville

Saturday, February 24

Run for Wildlife Rehabilitation Outpost 5K - Bay Saint Louis

Arbor Day 5K & 1 Mile - Biloxi

Mississippi Blues Marathon 26.2 Mile, 13.1 Mile, 10K & 5K - Jackson

Miles for Marlee 5K 8 Mile & 1 Mile Fun Run - Meadville

March 2024

Friday, March 1

Mississippi 50 Trail Run Marathon 100 Mile - Laurel

Saturday, March 2

Dash for Dyslexia OGHS 5K & 1 Mile Dash - Hattiesburg

Nourishing the NICU 5K - Hattiesburg

Zebra Run for Rare Disease 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Ocean Springs

Run Thru History 10K & 1 Mile - Vicksburg

Saturday, March 9

BSL Classic 10K - Bay Saint Louis

Celebrate Sela: Race to Raise CDH Awareness 5K and Half Mile Fun Run - Columbia

Saturday, March 16

Run the Rainbow for CHILDREN'S 26.2 Mile, 13.1 Mile, 10K, 5K & Kids' Fun Run - Jackson

Wednesday, March 20

Gulf Coast Series - Day 3 26.2 Mile, 13.1 Mile, 10K & 5K - Gulfport

Saturday, March 23

Viking Half Marathon, 10K & 5K - Greenwood

Saturday, March 30

Kick Up the Dust Trail Run 14K, 8K & 4K Trail Run - Clinton

Dr. William A McMillan Sr. Omega Fun 5K - Holly Springs

CASA Superhero Run 5K & Kids' Fun Run - Oxford

April 2024

Saturday, April 6

Austin's Shoes Run with Rotary 5K - Corinth

Hattiesburg Half Marathon, 10K & 5K - Hattiesburg

Hot Diggity Dog 5K & 1 Mile Dog Walk - Jackson

Saturday, April 13

Southern Miss Color Run 5K - Hattiesburg

BankPlus 5K - Newton

Wednesday, April 17

Riverboat Series - Day 3 26.2 Mile & 13.1 Mile - Hollandale

Saturday, April 20

Zoe Ministries' 4th Annual RUN4ZOE 5K - Cleveland, Virtual Option Available

Fondren Urban Ultra 12 Hour Run - Jackson

Saturday, April 27

Be the Light 5K & Fun Run - Canton

Farm to Fork 10K & 5K - Hattiesburg, Virtual Option Available

May 2024

Saturday, May 4

Coke 10K - Corinth, Virtual Option Available

Hickory Flat Rebel Run 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Hickory Flat

Saturday, May 11

Running with the Blues 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Bay Saint Louis

Chillin' in the Hills 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Vicksburg

Saturday, May 18

Blessed Are the Peacemakers 5K & Kids’ Fun Run - Tupelo, Virtual Option Available

June 2024

Saturday, June 1

State Games of Mississippi 5K - Meridian

Wednesday, June 5

Global Running Day in the Bay 5K - Bay Saint Louis

Saturday, June 22

State Games of Mississippi 4.6 Mile Trail Race - Meridian

July 2024

Thursday, July 4

Green Street Mile - Tupelo

Saturday, July 13

Frida 5Kahlo - Bay Saint Louis

Wednesday, July 27

Heart O' Dixie Triathlon - Louisville

While upcoming events have been canceled and/or postponed to help protect our communities and stop the spread of COVID-19, there are many things we can do to ensure we are getting 30 minutes of exercise in, most days of the week.

Get out and smell the magnolias!

The weather in Mississippi is mild, so it’s the perfect time. The key to walking or running will be to avoid popular trails or walking tracks. Stick to your neighborhood and be sure to maintain social distance and stay 6 feet away from any neighbors you may encounter.

Hit the stairs!

Be sure to warm-up first then run or walk the stairs for 15 minutes. If you need more of a challenge you can even side-step your way up and down, use the stairs to do push-ups or use the stairs to do step-ups. You’ll engage some different muscles and get the blood pumping.

The hunt is on!

If you have kids, try a scavenger hunt! Be creative and start inside and end in the backyard. Here are some suggestions to include in your hunt: something blue, puzzles, legos, a favorite toy, dad’s grill or even a flower or pinecone. Pinterest has tons of ideas to get you started.

Use sidewalk chalk!

Teach kids a math lesson outside or get in some physical activity. Draw a hopscotch, create a version of Twister, draw a maze or write down different activities for kids to do like jumping jacks, stretching or running in place.

The ideas are endless, just be sure to stay active!

We compile this calendar listing from various running and walking events in Mississippi that are sponsored by Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi and create links when more information is available. Be sure to check the details of each event for registration costs, deadlines and details, including changes and cancellations.