Let's Go Walkin' Mississippi!

Upcoming Events

June 2022

Wednesday, June 1

Big Run 5K & ½ Mile Fun Run - Ridgeland

Saturday, June 4

State Games of Mississippi 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Meridian

12 Hour Rez Loop Challenge - Brandon

Saturday, June 11

Blueberry Jubilee 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Poplarville

Dog Days 5K & 2 Mile Walk - Hattiesburg

Lake Run 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Quitman

Running with the King 5K - Tupelo

Chevron Charity Run 5K & 1 Mile Run - Pascagoula

Saturday, June 18

Southern Firecracker Triathlon - Grenada

Hotter than Hades Half Marathon, 5K & 1 Mile Kids Run - Leland, Virtual Option Available

Star Spangled Night Run 5K - Vicksburg

Juneteenth 5K Freedom Run & Fun Run - Canton, Virtual Option Available

Saturday, June 25

State Games of Mississippi Trail Race - Meridian

July 2022

Saturday, July 2

Balloon Chase 4 Mile, 2 Mile & ½ Mile Fun Run - Canton

Rick Osness Annual ALS Henleyfield Hills Buddy Half Marathon & 1 Mile Kids Run - Carrier

Monday, July 4

Farm Bureau Watermelon Classic 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Jackson

Saturday, July 9

Flamin Fury 4 Mile Trail Run - Pontotoc

Saturday, July 16

Splash Dash 5K & 1 Mile Kids Run - Brookhaven

Made in the Shade 5K & 1 Mile Kids Run - Flowood

Mississippi Sole II Soul 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Jackson, Virtual Option Available

Bay St. Louis Sprint Triathlon - Bay Saint Louis

Saturday, July 23

Heart O' Dixie Triathlon - Louisville

Saturday, July 30

Big Butts 100K, 50K Trail Run & 100K Relay - Jackson

August 2022

Friday, August 5

Wesley Road Race 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Hattiesburg

Saturday, August 6

Running for Jesus 5K & 1 Mile Color Run - Waynesboro

Run Baby Run 5K for Life & Fun Run - Vicksburg

Saturday, August 13

Motus Bonita Lakes Sprint Triathlon, Sprint Dry Triathlon & 14 Mile Sprint Duathlon - Meridian

MS Kids Triathlon & Double Dash Triathlon - Madison

Saturday, August 27

Dragon Fly Sprint Triathlon & Relay - Sardis

Glow So We Can Go 5K Glow Run, 2 Mile & 1 Mile Fun Run - Meridian

September 2022

Saturday, September 3

Ainsley's Angels 6th Annual Spread Your Wings 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Biloxi

Sunday, September 4

Tupelo Marathon and 14.2 Miler - Tupelo

Saturday, September 10

Tunnel to Towers 5K - Biloxi

Saturday, September 17

Lylah Gray Ray of Hope 5K - Booneville, Virtual Option Available

Run for Your Prostrate 15K - Tupelo

October 2022

Saturday, October 1

Ivy Trek Ultra 50K, 25K & 12.5K Trail Race - Quitman

Buddies Not Bullies 1 Mile Glow Run - Corinth

Saturday, October 8

Hernando Water Tower 10K - Hernando, Virtual Option Available

Pumpkin Run 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Meridian

Tunnel to Towers 5K - Jackson

Saturday, October 15

Hub City Hustle Triathlon & Duathlon - Oloh

Saturday, October 22

Mississippi Ale House Lederhosen 5K - Olive Branch

Trick or Treat Trot 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Brookhaven

Saturday, October 29

6 Hour Run the River Ultra Challenge & Relay - Petal

November 2022

Saturday, November 5

Hearts of Compassion 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Ridgeland

Saturday, November 12

Kamassa 2022 Race Series: Half Marathon, 10K, 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Crystal Springs

Saturday, November 19

Magnolia Marathon & Half Marathon - Meridian

12K's for the Holidays Charity Run 12K, 5K & 1 Mile Fun Run - Jackson

While upcoming events have been canceled and/or postponed to help protect our communities and stop the spread of COVID-19, there are many things we can do to ensure we are getting 30 minutes of exercise in, most days of the week.

Get out and smell the magnolias!

The weather in Mississippi is mild, so it’s the perfect time. The key to walking or running will be to avoid popular trails or walking tracks. Stick to your neighborhood and be sure to maintain social distance and stay 6 feet away from any neighbors you may encounter.

Hit the stairs!

Be sure to warm-up first then run or walk the stairs for 15 minutes. If you need more of a challenge you can even side-step your way up and down, use the stairs to do push-ups or use the stairs to do step-ups. You’ll engage some different muscles and get the blood pumping.

The hunt is on!

If you have kids, try a scavenger hunt! Be creative and start inside and end in the backyard. Here are some suggestions to include in your hunt: something blue, puzzles, legos, a favorite toy, dad’s grill or even a flower or pinecone. Pinterest has tons of ideas to get you started.

Use sidewalk chalk!

Teach kids a math lesson outside or get in some physical activity. Draw a hopscotch, create a version of Twister, draw a maze or write down different activities for kids to do like jumping jacks, stretching or running in place.

The ideas are endless, just be sure to stay active!

We compile this calendar listing from various running and walking events in Mississippi that are sponsored by Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi and create links when more information is available. Be sure to check the details of each event for registration costs, deadlines and details, including changes and cancellations.